Register
Email: Password:
Forum » Python. How do you do things with it?

Python. How do you do things with it?

Dorten 14 years ago
Subject: Notrium Mod Viewer

"Amarth" said:
PS: And about this different direction: is there anyone good with Python?
Yes.

I'm just starting to learn it. Currently translating this:[attachment=0]<!-- ia0 -->TheProject.rar<!-- ia0 -->[/attachment] to Python, and then will be expanding it further.

Here's the question.

If I write something like this:
Creature.py:

from Player import *

class Creature:
if isinstance(this,Player):

Player.py:

from Creature import *

class Player(Creature):

It gives a error in Creature.py, saying: "Wassafuck is Player?"

if I replace "from Player import *" with "from Player import Player", it says: "Cannot import Player"

but if I write "import Player" and "if isinstance(this,Player.Player):", THEN it works.

I guess no workaround here?
#
Amarth 14 years ago
Sounds like a name clash between module names (files) and classes. You can basically see Python as having a giant string-to-object map where about everything is an object, so Python wouldn't know what to do with the "Player" string: is it the module or the class?

Easiest (and standard) way to solve it is by making your files lowercase, then "import player.Player" (or any variant) should work fine. Otherwise you'll have to just "import Player" (the module), and you can refer to the class as Player.Player, but that's a bit verbose and doesn't read really well. It *might* be possible to do an explicit assignment like "Player = Player.Player" but just looking at it should make clear that is madness.
#
Dorten 14 years ago
Another thingie:

I'm using libtcod to do the console, and there is problem with output of strings, which do not contain any symbols from '\x00' to '\x7f'.

I'm using some symbols from '\x80' to '\xff' to represent walls, for example.

It goes like: libtcod.console_print_left(0, x, y, libtcod.BKGND_NONE, Text)