Register
Email: Password:
Forum » Simulated Ecosystem Help

Simulated Ecosystem Help

JDIZZLE 15 years ago
Heyo there was a post before asking about this which sparked my interest but the question was never answered. Soooo, is it somehow possible to simulate population size and a foodchain in a Notrium mod? If so i want to implement it into my first mod.
#
Narvius 15 years ago
Of course it's possible.

If there are at least three Notrium Modding overminds working on it.
At *least*.
#
JDIZZLE 15 years ago
ha ha point taken. I'v spent a few hours reading everything i can find about Notrium modding and I really don't want to be one of MANY who start a mod and don't finish. So i will probably just shuffle this idea to the back of my mind until i'm an expert =]
#
Nocture17 15 years ago
It can be done, I've looked into it for the Expansion several times.

You need:

1: A side for every animal on the foodchain, they cannot share sides. This in itself limits the potential biodiversity.
2: The eat command doesn't work with corpses, so instead, a programmed on-death drop for each creature.
3: Because there's only one possible eat command, each animal can have exactly one prey creature/item, and one predator creature, to get around this, there's always the option of using a "proximity" type script, though whether that works smoothly with items is dubious.
4: Notrium is unfortunately slightly loose when it comes to sticking to maximum populations, but the general figure is notionally in place in every spawner in the game.

I came to the conclusion that it wasn't going to be worthwhile investing effort into it unless that was the entire theme of the mod.
#
JDIZZLE 15 years ago
Awesome just what i wanted. I don't want to make any extreme claims that my mod won't live up to but yea the ecosystem will be one of the main features so i will definitely try this out. Thanks for the response.
#
roburky 15 years ago